Not Quite a Poem

For your consideration, this not-quite-a-poem:

She tells me stories–
Of life and laughter.
She tells me stories–
Of laughter and love
She tells me stories–
Of love and heartache.
She tells me stories–
Of heartache and pain.
She tells me stories–
Of how it’s for my own good.
She tells me stories–
As she leaves bruises on my feelings.
She tells me stories–
Of how I will never love anyone again.
She tells me stories.

…So, what did you think? I’m not sure I consider it a poem, since it doesn’t rhyme or anything, though it’s certainly interesting and it definitely has structure of a sort. Thoughts?

(You’re more likely to get poems than short stories from me in this space– it’s much harder to sell poetry to people, and there are fewer venues in which to do it.)

Leave a Reply

